Why would I want to take a class that meets the requirements for the Utah CCW permit?
Taking a class that meets the requirements for the Utah CCW permit allows you to apply to the state of Utah BCI for your Utah CCW. Having your Utah CCW (in addition to your own state’s CCW) allows you to carry in more states. For example, if you have you NE CCW permit you can carry in 32 states; however, if you also obtain a Utah CCW permit, you can then carry in 36 states.
Does the class fee include the state application fee to obtain the actual permit?
No, our fee for each class does not include any fees associated with the CCW permit application. For example Utah charges $51.00 for out-of-state resident applications, Iowa charges $50.00 or $60.00 (depending on whether or not you want a paper or photo card), Nebraska charges $100 (which includes fingerprinting), and Arizona charges $60.00 for their CCW permit.
What is your refund policy?
We will allow one make up class per person for legitimate reasons. If for some reason you cannot make it to the class you signed up for, email us (firstname.lastname@example.org) and we will allow you to sign up for another class time. If you sign up for a class and need a refund due to not meeting the qualifications for our class, we will retain a $7.50 processing fee (and will refund the remaining balance by check in the mail). Our qualifications for class are:
- Must be 21 years of age (or within a few months of turning 21),
- Have a Nebraska driver's license/identification card (for NE class), DOD number (if military), or Iowa driver's license/identification card (Utah class)
- If you are a resident of another state and already have your CCW permit from that state, you also meet the requirements for the Utah class. Residents from other states must not claim residency in Nebraska/Iowa, once moving to Nebraska/Iowa you must obtain a state license/I.D. and take a concealed carry class.
- Have not been convicted of a felony,
- Have not been convicted of any offense involving the use of alcohol or illegal controlled substances,
- Have not been convicted of any offense of domestic violence,
- Does not have any mental illness or been declared mentally incompetent by the U.S. court.
We will not issue refunds if you do not pass your criminal background check when applying with the state for your CCW permit. It is your responsibility to research and ask questions before you take the class!
*If you are unsure if you meet certain requirements, please contact the state in which you want to apply or contact us directly so we can try to help clarify any uncertainties! We also provide “Helpful Links” on our website, which will help you research many laws and requirements that pertain to CCW.
Do I need to own a firearm or bring one to class?
For the Nebraska CCW class you will be required to bring your own firearm and 100 rounds of ammunition. DO NOT bring the firearm or ammunition to the classroom portion of the class. The Utah class does not include a live fire portion; therefore you do not need to own a firearm for this class. If you do own a firearm, DO NOT bring it to class! No firearms or ammunition will be allowed in the classroom (the instructor will demonstrate with an unloaded pistol, but this will be the only firearm in the classroom)! Please leave all weapons secure in your vehicle for the classroom portion.
What states accept your curriculum (certificate of completion)?
Some states allow residents of other states to apply for non-resident CCW licenses. Utah and Arizona are highly sought after because having either of these CCW permits allows an individual to carry in many states. There are other states that allow you to apply for a non-resident license; however, this may not be as beneficial as the Utah or Arizona CCW permit. If you are interested in obtaining a certain state’s CCW, we recommend researching that state’s requirements and seeing if either the Utah or Arizona CCW would permit you to carry in that state. (Please not: most states that allow you to apply for a non-resident license, will require you to provide proof of your current state of residency's CCW permit. One exception is Arizona...they do not require you to have your state's CCW permit; however, your state of residency will not allow you to legally carry a concealed weapon without having a CCW from your state as well.)
*If you have any other questions please don’t hesitate to contact us! We will try to answer all your questions or find someone who can help you!! Thanks!